Skip to content ↓

New primary director appointed

Published on 08/11/17

The head of one of the country's most successful free schools has been appointed to lead the development of the Inspiration Trust's primaries.

Hywel Jones, currently headteacher at West London Free School, has been appointed to the new role of primary director, co-ordinating the work of the charity's five primary schools.

The post will see Hywel working with academy principals and the Trust's senior leaders to ensure continued improvement at the schools and the implementation of a broad knowledge-rich curriculum that goes beyond 'teaching to the test'.

Hywel has a BSc and MPhil in international relations, and a PGCE in history. His teaching career includes work in Ely, Bishop's Stortford, and London, and he was recently appointed to the board of Ofqual, the exams regulator.

He speaks regularly at national conferences on curriculum development and the Prevent strategy in schools. Outside of education, he is a keen road cyclist and takes part in ultra-endurance Alpine events. He has a particular interest in Cold War history and is an avid reader of spy novels.

Announcing the appointment, Inspiration Trust chief executive Dame Rachel de Souza said: "I am delighted to welcome Hywel to the Inspiration Trust. Hywel is an incisive and determined leader and his broad knowledge across the sector will be extremely important in ensuring that children in our primary schools get an exceptional foundation to their education.

"Schools like Stradbroke Primary Academy in Gorleston are already leading the country - named as in the top three percent of schools earlier this year - and this new role is all about providing the support and analysis that will ensure all of our primaries are as good as the very best."

Mr Jones said: "I'm looking forward to helping the Trust's fantastic teaching staff improve the outcomes for pupils across our primary schools. We have seen great strides in standards in primary schools in London and I want to blend that experience with the best of what is being done in Norfolk, and in particular the exceptional work on curriculum being pioneered by the Inspiration Trust."

The Inspiration Trust oversees three primary schools in Great Yarmouth - Cobholm Primary Academy, Great Yarmouth Primary Academy, and Stradbroke Primary Academy - and two in Norwich: Charles Darwin Primary and Norwich Primary Academy.

The trust also includes secondary and sixth form academies across Norfolk and Suffolk.